How many continents really are there

Believe it or not there are actually 8 continents on planet earth.  There is North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia, Antarctica, and Zealandia.  You might not have heard about Zealandia before because that’s because it wasn’t discovered until very recently.  Zealandia is mostly underwater.  It consists of New Zealand and part of the pacific Island chain.  It was hiding in plain sight the whole time.  This continent is right next to Australia and it meets all the criteria of being a continent.  1) elevation, 2) crustal structure, 3) geology and 4) total area and structure limits.  Zealandia has all of these.  Most people only think of continents as huge land masses above the water but perspective is important and a new continent has been hidden there the whole time.


Image result for zealandia